Secret Thirteen Mix 149 - Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe


Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe - Secret Thirteen Mix 149

Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (b. 1975) is an artist and composer who works with his voice in the realm of spontaneous music, most often under the Lichens moniker. Modular synth patch pieces and tonal vocal work have been the focus of his live performances and recordings recently. The quality of sound achieved through the marriage of synthesis and the voice has allowed for a heightened physicality in his ecstatic music both within live and recorded settings. The sensitivity of analogue modular systems echoes the organic nature of vocal expression, which in this case is meant to bring about a trancelike state, thus inducing a mode of deeper listening. His written work leans toward the themes of human relations to the natural/magical world, and the repetition of motifs.

Throughout the series of artist residencies and commissions in 2014, Robert has focused on performances directly related to Hypnagogic states. In 2015 his focus will be video synthesis. The year will see further collaboration with Jóhann Jóhannsson and French composer Ariel Kalma, as well as theatre/installation based work with artist Alexandra Wolkowicz. Robert has collaborated with Ben Russell, Ben Rivers, Sabrina Ratté, Rose Lazar, Nicolas Becker, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Tarek Atoui, Evan Calder Williams, Ariel Kalma, Lucky Dragons, Alexandra Wolkowicz, Biba Bell, ADULT, Doug Aitken, and Rose Kallal, and many others.[1]

“Secret Thirteen Mix 149” is a transcendent mix by Robert A. A. Lowe, which balances on the border between ethnic music and the avant-garde. The mix contains 12 sensuous pieces recorded between 1965 and 2015. Robert also includes an excerpt of “Physical Model” - one of his unreleased pieces. The whole mix sounds like one continuous track, which progressively, but very smoothly, moves from the organic to the synthetic. Robert, however, manages to handle the kaleidoscopic clash between these differing musical cultures, and transforms the collision into a very meditative, beautiful and timeless creation. There is something for everyone to enjoy in these wild horizons, these chasms lined with electronic patterns that hide all the diverse influences weaved into the music on this mix. Howard Hodgkin’s abstract expressionist painting “Moroccan Door” could be a fitting visual interpretation for this peacemaking mix. It’s like an entrance into a home, which awaits your return with not only a delicious meal, but an inspiring metaphysical discussion as well.

Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe about his mix:

The basis of this mix is the Hypnagogic state, the waking dream. I feel that these works offer a natural trance.

The selections here are from my collection which took some years to build up as I traveled for performances and would gather certain bits by region. For example the Josip Kalčič composition I've obtained is from Elektronski Studio Radio Beograda, where i toured last week to see their EMS Synthi 100 system. While there, I saw a portion of the massive archive of recordings done in the studio since 1972.

The influence of sound in this realm is quite heavy on my artistic process. Field recordings and synthesis are in my wheelhouse. And, I think, if nothing more, the simple fact that the exploration of variations in the world is seemingly limitless brings great joy to me.


01. Pura Ram - "Double Flute Solo" (Le Chant Du Monde, 1977) 0.00
02. Ströer Duo - "Vietnam" (Mood Records, 1982) 5.00
03. 0Jürgen Karg - "Die Versunkene Stadt – Atlantis" (Mood Records, 1977) 9.01
04. Josip Kalčič - "Duboki Do/Deep Valley" (Not On Label,1974) 17.08
05. Easley Blackwood - "16 Notes" (Not On Label, 1980) 21.03
06. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe - "Physical Model" (excerpt) (Unreleased 2015) 24.46
07. Atmo - "Acque Tranquille" (Rhombus, 1973) 27.48
08. Gregory Jones & Roy Sablosky - "No Moon No Mirror" (Vinyl Records, 1980) 30.09
09. Tindes-Nommas sung by Haky - "Ouane-Ouane" (Ocora, 1965) 37.42
10. David Hykes & the Harmonic Choir - "Gravity Waves" (Ocora,1983) 42.59
11. Djivan Gasparyan - "Menag Jamport Em (Yes Kez Tessa)" (Network Medien, 1999) 50.56
12. Geinoh Yamashirogumi - "Osorezan" (Osorezan/Do No Kenbai) 57.01

Links discogs - twitter

[1] Bio was provided by mix's author

About Author

An interdisciplinary journal, offering eclectic mixes and smart interviews with original artists and label owners as well as contemporary art reviews.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply