Secret Thirteen Mix 078 - Quinoline Yellow


The author of the mix is Luke Williams, glowing under Quinoline Yellow and Tatamax aliases, a British electronic music performer and sound artist who lives and works in London, United Kingdom. Musically active since the early 1990s, Williams was exploring pirate radio stations repertoires, early hardcore and drum and bass culture, also spent many time examining records in now defunct record shop Ambient Soho, which played an important educational role in his career. Year 2000 was the turning point for Williams as an artist - he signed the legendary alternative electronic Skam Records label, significant for its solid music catalog (Boards of Canada, Bola, Gescom and Team Doyobi) and debuting for Skam at a Futuresonic event in Manchester and at Warp Records' high profile Lighthouse Party soon after. In over than a decade Williams has released a bunch of works on labels such as Skam, recently re-launched Andrea Parker's Touchin' Bass and his own imprint Uchelfa. Williams was performing in the UK (one of the most important performances was at ATP Festival which was curated by Autechre), Europe, Japan, sharing the stage with honorable artists such as Mira Calix, Clark, μ-Ziq, Rob Hall, Jega, Pan Sonic and many others. An interesting fact is that the Quinoline Yellow name is borrowed from a pair of chemical compounds, one of which is Quinoline Yellow SS.

“Secret Thirteen Mix 078” is a flexible and dynamic audio selection that connects 55 timeless records released in the last three decades. Included works by noticeable artists such as Autechre, Aphex Twin, Scanner, Squarepusher, Fennesz, BOC, Mr. 76ix and many others not only enrich this mix with hardware generated proper sound, but also with mellow diversity and complete uniqueness. The mix also hides a few works of Tatamax as well. The basis of the mix stands on a constantly rotating and expanding rhythms, powerful melodic arrangement, varying selection's speed and intention. The mixing is accurate, patient and completely measured, at the end this mix sounds as sustained kaleidoscopic collage. Despite the priority of eclectic records development, the tracks are mixed so professionally that a lot of them sound like the new ones. Williams was not afraid of weaving jungle with IDM, ambient with hip hop or breaks with glitch and this shows his open-minded view to the whole music scene and his longevous musical knowledge. In some perspectives this mix reminds the sounding of Skam Records back in the days. It is a very skillfully compiled and produced compilation that clearly shows some of the Williams' early influences and evokes some positive memories to every sophisticated listener.

“Secret Thirteen Mix 078” is like a refreshing Salvador Dali's symbolic painting “Singularities” where eccentric perspectives and controversial influences resulted in wildly imaginative, surrealistic dreamscapes create an intense artistic expression. Quinoline Yellow's creatively prolific and influential mix perfectly mirrors Dali's mysteriously vivid painting as they both hold organic tension, striking colour palette and numerous surface narratives. Quinoline Yellow's mix is like a 'blast from the past' that will be a good educational material for the younger listeners who are not very familiar to the 2000s alternative electronic dance music scene and also for the older die-hard music lovers with strong sentiments to the so called golden IDM period.

Show Playlist
1. Future Sound of London - Lifeforms (Path 6)
2. The KLF - Brownsville Turnaround On The Tex-Mex Border
3. Steven Wright - I Have a Pony
4. Curve - Falling Free (Aphex Twin Remix)
5. Mr. 76ix - Gasmask
6. Stars of the Lid - Music for Twin Peaks Episode #30
7. Yee King - E20 Crunch
8. Mixmaster Morris - Playing Around With Sound
9. Alder and Elius - Bionic Vagina
10. Aphex Twin - Next Heap With
11. Potential Bad Boy - Side C (Untitled)
12. Luke Slater's 7th Palin - Seeing Sense
13. Delia Derbyshire - Blue Veils and Golden Sands
14. The Shamen - Re:Evolution (acapella vox (edit))
15. Hell Interface - Trapped
16. Scanner - Untitled
17. Autechre - pt2ph8
18. Terry Thomas - Bring Back The Cat
19. Boogie Down Productions - Criminal Minded
20. Aphex Twin - Untitled
21. Ovuca - Festival
22. Squarepusher - Kill Robok
23. Sun Electric - Entrance
24. Potential Bad Boy - Work The Box
25. Engineers without Fears - Spiritual Aura
26. Gappa G & Hypa Hypa - Information Centre (DJ Ron Remix)
27. Dead Dread - Dread Bass
28. Astrobotnia - Hallo
29. New Decade - No Worries
30. Tatamax - Rung
31. X-Project - Jah Set It
32. Derek & Clive - Celebrity Suicide
33. Jega - Phlax
34. Extract from 'The Shining'
35. The Hafler Trio - Kill The King
36. Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto - Siisx
37. The Orb - Majestic
38. Tatamax - No one Ate Turkey That Year
39. Dylan Thomas - If I were Tickled by the Rub of Love
40. Pauline Oliveros, Stuart Dempster and Panaiotis - Nike
41. µ-Ziq - Iesope
42. The Gasman - Horses on Ice
43. Solar X - Xiao Jie
44. B-Jam - Funkula
45. Bochum Welt - Leafs Brought by The Wind
46. Lovebug Starski - Say What You Wanna Say
47. Boards of Canada - The Colour of The Fire
48. Fennesz - Onsay
49. The Conet Project - 5 Dashes
50. Nav Katze - Ziggy (Aphex Twin Mix #1)
51. Wevie Stonder - Autopilot
52. Alder and Elius - Avatar Blackwolf
53. Gescom - Self Impersonation (Pharoid Remix)
54. Future Sound of London - Dirty Shadows
55. Tatamax - Tash

More about Quinoline Yellow: Website - Twitter - Soundcloud

About Author

An interdisciplinary journal, offering eclectic mixes and smart interviews with original artists and label owners as well as contemporary art reviews.


Leave A Reply