Secret Thirteen Mix 173 - Sixth June


Sixth June of Mannequin Records

Sixth June is a Berlin based duo made up of Lidija Andonov and Laslo Antal, both originating from Belgrade, Serbia. They craft beautiful icy synth pop that combines the darker fringes of new wave with goth-pop melancholia with Lidija’s voice roaming somewhere between Nico’s dramatism and the expresion of Malaria!. Sixth June merge nostalgic catchy melodies with thick atmospheric layers to give an overall ghostly vibe that’s so reminiscent of oldschool goth/post-punk tunes, yet clearly modern. The duet has already released an excellent LP “Everytime” on No Emb Blanc records followed by a couple of equally stunning EPs on Mannequin Records. Their new album is currently in the works.

Secret Thirteen Mix 173 is an hour-long celebration of the charms of synth pop/new wave/goth music, and includes a wide variety of classics together with some Eastern European and Balkan wave gems, as well as an unreleased Cult Club (Laslo Antal’s and Sally Dige’s project) track. The mix, which was compiled by Laslo Antal, maintains an uptempo mood while its smart tracklist constantly shifts between well-known timeless hits and obscure tunes made behind the iron curtain. Harold Faltermeyer’s retro-futuristic 80’s banger “Axel F” stands together with Morrissey’s “Alsatian Cousin”, while the powerful live rendition of The The’s arena anthem “Giant” precedes the dancy moodiness of Bonanza Banzai, a legendary Hungarian synth pop band. Goth undertones are also here with The Sisters of Mercy’s “Poison Door” or Sixth June themselves with their sulky and emotional “Back for a Day”. The smooth and funky jazz grooves of Croatian new wave outfit Haustor is also a nice addition, not to mention the stunning extended version of A-ha’s “The Sun Always Shines on TV”. The mix concludes with the dark contemporary balladry of Paul Young, and a slow-paced romantic tune by Mick Karn. All the songs contained in this selection were important for Laslo and Lidija for different reasons over the years.

The whole mood of the mix resembles one of Antonio Palolo’s untitled paintings. Its subtle interplay of light and dark color tones, the balance between movement and static position, nocturnal elegance and dreamy lushness nicely reflect some of the emotional aspects of this selection.


01. Harold Faltermeyer ‎- Axel F [MCA Records, 1984]
02. INXS ‎- Original Sin [Mercury, 1983]
03. Lords Of The New Church ‎- Dance With Me (12" Mix) [Illegal Records, 1983]
04. Morrissey - Alsatian Cousin [Parlophone, 1988]
05. Depeche Mode - Strangelove (7" Single) [Mute, 1987]
06. Videosex - Videosex [ZKP RTVL, 1984]
07. Sixth June - Back For A Day [Mannequin, 2011]
08. a-ha - The Sun Always Shines On T.V. (Extended Version) [Warner Bros. Records, 1985]
09. The Sisters Of Mercy - Poison Door [Merciful Release, 1984]
10. The The ‎- Giant (Live) [CBS Records, 1983]
11. Bonanza Banzai - Calypso [Start, 1989]
12. Haustor - Šejn [Jugoton, 1985]
13. Cult Club - What Is Love [Not On Label, 2014]
14. Paul Young ‎- Come Back And Stay [Columbia, 1983]
15. Mick Karn ‎- Sensitive [Virgin, 1982]

About Author

Paulius Ilevicius is a Secret Thirteen journalist, editor and occasional DJ focusing on more dreamy and melancholic soundscapes. Born in post-industrial town of Pavevezys, currently he lives and works in Vilnius, Lithuania.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply