STM 048 - Team Doyobi

Team Doyobi Christopher Gladwin & Alexander Peverett Music Mix

Photo by Y. Kobayashi

An exemplary mix by Team Doyobi of Skam Records connects 58 gradually shifting kaleidoscopic and conceptual records from the latter 5 decades.


The authors of the mix are Alexander Peverett (b. 1976) and Christopher Gladwin (b. 1976), founders of British electronic music duo Team Doyobi. They began their tight creative partnership by producing soundtracks for self-made video art in the early 1990s. Team Doyobi are authoritative voices in the UK digital music scene, using obsolete computers (Commodore Amiga) as serious musical instruments, cutting chip sounds out of video games and presenting them to audiences in the form of techno, breaks or IDM. In over a decade Team Doyobi released numerous records on such labels as FatCat Records, Alku, or Icasea. Currently they are signed to Skam Records, known for its solid IDM catalog (Boards of Canada, Bola, Gescom and Jega). Their most recent releases have been the brilliant 2012 Digital Music Volume 1 and 2013 Digital Music Volume 2.

Secret Thirteen Mix 048 is a gradually shifting voluminous musical compilation that includes diverse works by such prominent composers and musicians as Klaus Schulze, Laurie Spiegel, Bill Nelson, Daphne Oram, Robert Fripp & Brian Eno, Pete Namlook, Tangerine Dream, Robert Hood, and many other audio production pioneers. This is a thoughtfully crafted 2 hour long compilation that explores linearity and expression of variety. Stylistic frames are incapable of obscuring the individual beauty, flexibility and singular ideas of each included work. By doing their best to employ their technical virtuosity and compositional freedom, Team Doyobi create something rather ambitions. In some of the tracks, the importance is with certain technologies, studio techniques and their uses by individual masters. The EMS Synthi 100, Yamaha CS30, Roland System 100, Roland SH-2, EDP Wasp, Sequential Circuits Prophet 5, Frippertronics and Emu Emulator are some of the instruments utilised to their fullest in strong compositions. There are some unreleased pieces included from solo projects of Team Doyobi members, S>>D and Collapsoft. The surface is rich with solid moving textures, mesmerizing atmospheres, excellent varying rhythmics and charismatic melodies. Encoded and integrated hypnotic patterns of complex micro sounds, enigmatic rustles, expressively generated effects go into a full on sound collision and create a touching and thrilling background. All these great stylistic decisions have been and are influential to Team Doyobi's sonic approach.

Secret Thirteen Mix 048 is like the chimerical abstract modern painting by Joan Miró, Étoile Bleue (Blue Star), where the brilliant azure background and the dynamic geometric shapes form a dreamscape - a vacant infinite space that creates a refined spectacle of the sky, the voyage of life, convulsions of personal illusions and existence.


1. Phoenecia - Fog Things Of Antiquity
2. Satoshi Aizawa, Joe Gilmore, George Rogers & Alex Peverett - Untitled
3. Daphne Oram - Rhythmic Variation #1
4. Collapsoft - 2012- 112a
5. Benge - 1977 Yamaha CS30
6. Alex Peverett - Unreleased
7. Barry Truax - Solar Ellipse
8. British Electric Foundation - Rise of the East
9. Dderrick Thomas - Rhythm Machine Blues
10. Laurie Spiegel - The Unquestioned Answer
11. Christian Zanési - Stop! L'horizon
12. Simon Mashoko - Kumakudo
13. Annea Lockwood - Two Ribbed Discs
14. Robert Schroeder - Time Machine
15. Denis Smalley - The Pulses of Time
16. Higher Intelligence Agency - M+T=E
17. Deep Space Network - Singlenote
18. Baka Forest People - Hut Song
19. Alex Peverett - Unreleased
20. Autechre - Uviol
21. Roland Kayn - Cybernetic Serendipity
22. Francois-Bernard Mache - Prélude
23. Monobox - Silicone Fingers
24. Disjecta - Are You An Echo?
25. Pete Namlook - The Great Hall of Synthi 100
26. Laurie Spiegel - Soundtrack for Sandin
27. CD III - Get Tough (Instrumental)
28. Thomas Leer And Robert Rental - The Hard Way In & The Easy Way Out
29. The Hafler Trio - Battery Eyes (Like Watching Winter. Long The Abuse Of Night)
30. Robert Hood - The Art of War
31. Horacio Vaggione - Ash
32. Klaus Schulze - 1972 Study for Philip K Dick
33. Haruomi Hosono - Alternative 3
34. Bernard Fort - Fractal I
35. Art of Noise - Comes and Goes
36. Tangerine Dream - Untitled 3
37. Chris & Cosey - Last Exit
38. John Carpenter & Alan Howarth - Nobody's Home Restored
39. S>>D - Cull
40. Tetsu Inoue - Super Digital
41. Original Clique - Xamax
42. Suzanne Ciani - Live Buchla Concert 1975
43. John Hyde - Magma
44. Robert Fripp & Brian Eno - Dark Waters
45. Hype Williams - Millenial Turk
46. Bill Nelson - Love's First Kiss
47. John Hyde - Hammerhead
48. Robert Rental - Untitled (from Mental Detentions)
49. Wavemaker - Wavemaker
50. Chris Carter - Solidit
51. Guy Reibel - Canon Sur Une Trompe Africaine
52. Sweet Exorcist - Jack Jack
53. Mr Fingers - Washing Machine
54. Unique 3 - Fury in Force
55. Moebius, Plank & Neumeier - All Repro
56. British Electric Foundation - Decline of the West
57. Francis Dhomont - Chambre d'enfants
58. Chris Gladwin - Unreleased

About Author

An interdisciplinary journal, offering eclectic mixes and smart interviews with original artists and label owners as well as contemporary art reviews.