STM 116 - AnD

AnD techno artists aka Shadows

Photo by AnD

An enigmatic mix by AnD, blending 27 profound indurstrial-minded records (1975-2014) into a soundtrack for an unreleased post-apocalyptic sci-fi film.


The authors of the mix are the Manchester-based electronic musicians Andrew Bowen and Dimitri Ploumpidis, collectively known as AnD. Bowen is originally from Belfast and Ploumpidis is from Thesaloniki, Greece, so this is a meeting of two distinct temperaments matured by different social and cultural environments. This push and pull relationship adds a lot of colour and sensation into a collaboration that, unexpectedly, sounds almost harmonious. Even before AnD, in the late ‘90s, Bowen had been collecting records and going to raves while Ploumpidis had a great interest in D.I.Y. electronic instruments (he is a certificated designer of electronic circuits). The duo’s paths crossed as they were studying music production at the School of Sound Recording in Manchester. Step by step they developed their unique, dynamic sound permeated with industrial music motifs, and quickly immersed themselves in the intense world of techno. The last 9 years have been enormously productive for the duo - during this time they released numerous records on such concept-driven and constantly growing labels as Electric Deluxe, Modal Analysis, Geoff Presha’s Samurai Horo, Black Sun Records, Repitch Recordings, Horizontal Ground and others. In 2011 they opened Inner Surface Music - a 100% vinyl imprint they run together with Tom Dicicco to release recordings by other promising artists.

The basis of AnD’s production stands on powerful and dense sound dynamics, distortions and colossal rhythmic structures. They explore the limitations of computer generated music and also include a wide palette of sounds generated using a variety of analog synths, drum machines and effect blocks. It is important to mention that some of the devices used have been constructed on the basis of D.I.Y. principles, and this gives more authenticity to their entire musical identity. In one interview about AnD, described their production concept saying “there is calm before the storm”, which is a vivid explanation that unveils why their embossed compositions, balancing between tough beats and the elegance of background ambiance, are so maneuverable and have strong beatless sections reminiscent of theater soundtracks. Their critically acclaimed EPs, such as Bow, FVS or Kundalini, are a good start to get acquainted with AnD’s musical intent and philosophy.

Secret Thirteen Mix 116 is an enigmatic and subtly thrilling audio compilation, weaving 27 spectacular abyssal records released between 1975 and 2014. In it, AnD did not follow the ideas driving their previous mixes for Electric Deluxe or Resident Advisor. They took an alternative direction and put together something quite a bit more eclectic, including a wide spectrum of music by such gifted experimental musicians from different eras as Peder Mannerfelt, Ø, Muslimgauze, Cabaret Voltaire, Chris & Cosey, Jeff Mils and others. Patient and accurate mixing, supported by thoughtful emotional and structural development, creates a continuity and showcases AnD’s precision, dexterity, understanding of aesthetics and attentiveness to even the smallest of details. John Cato’s abstract photograph, Double concerto #13, could be used as a cover for AnD’s mix - both hold the weight of systematic chaos and artistic effect, and both force the design of countless interpretations.

In AnD’s words:

The mix was made as as soundtrack to an unreleased science fiction film that takes you to the depths of a post apocalyptic world.

Mutated life re-emerges amidst complete destruction. Purple hazed dystopian landscapes with steel-pinned conifers in cubist, sulphur-ridden oceans. Snaps of summer crossing Iridescence have broken in a driven parade of asphyxiating pillows. Animalistic electromagnetic fields have taken control of the minds of the surviving human race. Novelled by its static characterisations. An Iron Sky becomes a golden dawn.

Now … The Subliminal doctrine kindles morphosis with esoteric frequencies.


01. Kontakt Der Jünglinge - Kontakt Der Jungline 0 [Die Stadt. 2001]
02. Jeff Mills - Introduction - Phase 1-3 [Axis, 2011]
03. Imaginary Softwoods - Untitled (10) [Wagon, 2008]
04. Chris & Cosey - The Giants Feet [Rough Trade/Conspiracy International, 1982]
05. Pupol Vuh - Aguirre I (Haswell and Hecker Remix) [Editions Mego, 2008]
06. Muslimgauze - Untitled 2 Azzazin [Staalplaat, 1996]
07. Peder Mannerfelt - Alpha Waves [Digitalis Recordings, 2014]
08. Ø [Phase] - Madlab [Token, 2014]
09. Kondaktor - Signal#1" (ANFS Remix) [Modal Analysis, 2014]
10. The Whirling Hall Of Knives - The Fire Of The Eye [Nute Records, 2014]
11. Spatial - Dubfiction Runout (Channel 5) [Broken20, 2013]
12. Bee Mask - Fried Niteshades [Spectrum Spools, 2012]
13. Prostitutes - The Steady Sale Of Junk [Stabudown, 2012]
14. This Heat - 24 Track Loop [These Records, 1979]
15. Portion Control - Suck And Blow [Third Mind Records, 1983]
16. Gruppo D'Improvvisazione - Eflot [Cinevox, 1975]
17. Ø - Syvänteessä Pukinjalkaisen [Sahko Recordings, 2014]
18. Angus Tarnawsky - Tour Maline [Inner Surface Music, 2014]
19. Valanx - Daughters Of The Everfire [SonuoS, 2013]
20. Bernard Parmegiani - Pleins Et Déliés [Recollection GRM, 1976]
21. Cabaret Voltaire - Photophobia [Rough Trade, 1979]
22. ZymOsiZ - Intro [Zhark Recordings, 2001]
23. Mecanica Popular - Visibilidad Cero [Grabaciones Accidentales, 1987]
24. Time Machines - 7-Methoxy-β-Carboline: (Telepathine) [Eskaton, 1998]
25. Grey Branches - Lower Bounds [Inner Surface Music, 2014]
26. Claire Thomas & Susan Vezey - Under Press Of Sail [Snatch Tapes, 1980]
27. Streetwalker - Sun Song [Cititrax, 2013]

About Author

An interdisciplinary journal, offering eclectic mixes and smart interviews with original artists and label owners as well as contemporary art reviews.